Homemade Falernum Liqueur

Before visiting Tiki themed bars in Los Angeles, and even at Disneyland, I admit I did not know much about Tiki cocktails outside of a traditional Mai Tai. However, once I began to learn more about the great variety of Tiki drinks, I started looking into how I can re-create some at home. I found that most of the flavors I enjoyed were due to the addition of falernum, a liqueur rumored to come from Barbados that is intricate in flavor, yet incredibly simple to make.

IMG_9254

Although it can be found premade, falernum’s ingredients are straightforward and the process is easy enough that I decided to make my own batch at home.

IMG_9206

INGREDIENTS:

1/3 cup sliced raw almonds
40 whole cloves
3/4 cup rum
Zest of 8 limes
Juice of 3 limes
1 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup warm water

Add the almonds and cloves to a pan and toast over medium heat until almonds are just slightly browned. Add the almonds, cloves, lime zest, and rum to a jar then cover and shake. Let the mixture sit for two full days (one day if you don’t want it to be too potent with clove flavor – I recommend two days for the full effect).

After the two days, combine warm water and sugar in a container and mix until the sugar has dissolved. Combine the sugar water, rum mixture, and lime juice into one container and mix thoroughly. The falernum can be refrigerated for up to one month.



Leave a comment