Handmade Table Runners

IMG_9826When thinking of the decor for our dining room table, I knew that I would want to use table runners, as opposed to full tablecloths, to show off the oak wood. I also knew that I would create my own runners, since the selection at a fabric store is so much wider than what would be available prefabricated. Initially I went to the fabric store thinking that I would make one or two runners to switch out. However, once I started walking the aisles I wanted to grab a lot more options. Ultimately I settled on three unique fabrics to have a good variety, and to be used with different dishes and seasons.

IMG_9788IMG_9819Each runner followed the same general layout: a strip with pointed ends and tassels. I cut out rectangles in each piece of fabric, hemmed around the edges, and then folded the tips in to create the points. Then, I sewed on a decorative edge for a couple of them to give a bit of extra contrast, and created simple tassels for each using string and yarn.

IMG_9825IMG_9827For the first runner, I selected a light blue fabric with an off white pattern that I thought would work well with our main set of casual dishes.

IMG_9830IMG_9832For the second runner, I picked out a light green fabric with a beige leaf pattern. This one compliments our wedding china, which I love to take out for special events, or small gatherings with friends. I decided not to give this one an edge since the pattern has a lot of detail on its own.

IMG_9821IMG_9824For the final runner, I used a light linen fabric with a beautiful embroidered pattern. I gave this one a blue rope edge to give it a bit more color, and created gray tassels to compliment the colors of the stems in the pattern.

IMG_9820Although this one has a lot going on in the pattern, it is perhaps the most neutral of the three for our dining room table. With just a couple of center piece items, this runner makes our table feel complete without being too heavy and cluttered.

IMG_9822Although I may use table cloths in the future for some events, I am very happy to have these new runners to alternate with our decor. Each runner was very simple to make, and I’m so excited to have these options when entertaining.

Leave a Reply

