Striped Picnic Blanket

James and I love going on picnics, but finding a pretty picnic blanket that we don’t mind getting dirty at an affordable price has proven to be a challenge.  So, I decided to make a simple one myself using fabric I already had at home and fabric paint in two colors.

IMG_9006

To get started I cut out a large square of fabric and hemmed each side with a sewing machine. I drew out the pattern on a piece of paper beforehand, and used a ruler and masking tape to tape off the sections that would be painted. I then painted in the stripes and let the paint dry completely (at least 4 hours).

IMG_8999

The final product is pretty, comfortable, and affordable. I’m excited to take this new blanket to many picnics and beach days this summer.

 

One Comment on “Striped Picnic Blanket”

  1. […] quick and easy. Aside from the food itself, I always pack enough beverages to keep us hydrated, a picnic blanket, and of course a good […]


Leave a Reply

