Citrus Strawberry Shortcake

img_4490

Strawberry shortcake is one of those classic summer time desserts that’s liked by most and super simple to make. A couple of weeks ago we had some friends over for our first outdoor grilling of the summer season, and I decided to make a nontraditional version of this fun treat, by incorporating a burst of citrus flavor.

img_4478

I was short on time, so I stuck with a simple biscuit recipe, and used pre-made whipped cream. I prepared the biscuits ahead of time so that they could be cool and ready for the toppings later on. The key component to this version of strawberry shortcake is in the strawberries marinade.

IMG_4482

I chopped up a big bowl of ripe strawberries, removing the cores, and mixed in a few ingredients that I had at home: brown sugar, vanilla-orange liqueur, juice from 1/2 an orange, about two teaspoons of orange zest, and a dash of orange bitters.

img_4483

IMG_4484

After incorporating all of the ingredients, I covered the bowl and let it sit in the refrigerator while I focused on preparing the meats for our BBQ. Then, when it was time for dessert, all I had to do was put a couple scoops of strawberries on the small biscuits I had baked earlier and a swirl of whipped cream.

img_4493

I can honestly say that they were fantastic. Our guests loved the boozy orange flavors bursting through the sweet strawberries. This recipe will definitely keep coming back this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

