Favorite LA Spots: Union Station

IMG_0588

Next up in the Favorite LA Spots series is Union Station. Like with the first two, Union Station has special meaning to James and myself not only for being a beautiful (and free to visit) destination, but also for being a part of one of our early dates (the fourth to be exact).

img_0594Almost four years ago, I had my very first birthday in Los Angeles. I still didn’t know many people, and for a little while I thought I would spend it by myself. Lucky for me, the man who will soon be my husband cleared out his day and gave me a tour of Downtown Los Angeles.

IMG_0591

We took the Metro Red Line from the Universal City station to Union Station, and I fell in love with it instantly. I had seen the station’s waiting room and old ticketing hall in feature films, but its grandeur is apparent only person.

IMG_0590

I loved the intricate details in the gardens and every room, from the wall tile….

IMG_0592

…to the gorgeous vaulted ceilings.

IMG_0604

The station represents a precious part of Los Angeles history, and a first impression for countless people arriving here over the past century. We’re so glad that its still here to welcome people to the city that we call home.

 

 

Leave a Reply

