Artichoke, Swiss Chard, and Sundried Tomato Stuffed Chicken

img_0907

I find that more often than I would like to admit, dinner at home is a random concoction of whatever I have around. My weekday routine involves me taking out a package of frozen meat to thaw in the morning for that evenings meal, and most of the time I just thaw whatever freezer bag my hands reach for first. Therefore, by the time I get home after work, I don’t always have a set meal in mind. I do however, always want to cook something healthy, using whole foods whenever possible. To make the stuffing for this chicken, I used a few different ingredients I had in my refrigerator, and you can really use any combination of vegetables you may have in yours. This recipe is low carb, and really simple to make, especially after a long work day.

img_0892d

Ingredients:

2 Chicken breasts (slightly pounded)

1 Cup sliced mushrooms

1/4 Cup sundried tomatoes

1/2 Cup artichoke hearts (quartered)

2 Cups Swiss chard (roughly chopped)

1 Garlic clove (minced)

1/2 Cup red table wine

1 Tablespoon olive oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

img_0904

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven to 350F. Add mushrooms to a food processor and roughly grind. In a skillet, heat up the olive oil and add minced garlic. Saute garlic until lightly browned, and add Swiss chard. Let the chard cook for about a minute, then add artichokes and tomatoes. Add mushrooms, and salt and pepper to taste.

img_0896b

Let the vegetables cook for about 5 minutes, then add wine. Simmer vegetables for a few more minutes, until all vegetables are soft and the wine has been absorbed.

img_0893d

Add a couple of big dollops of the vegetable mix to the center of each chicken breast. Roll the chicken breasts, and secure with toothpicks. Bake chicken in oven for 20 minutes. Remove from oven, let cool, and remove toothpicks before serving. Top chicken breasts with leftover vegetables.

img_0906

 

Leave a Reply

