Wedding Dress Shopping

Last week I went wedding dress shopping.  I happen to be very lucky to have a fiancé who is actively involved in the wedding planning decision making and right there by my side on every detail, that is until the dress shopping came. We are not superstitious, but we do like the idea of maintaining traditions, so we decided that this was something he would not be a part of. I went with my mother, who was essential, my sister/maid of honor, my two nieces each representing their mothers/my sisters, and my best friend – all who gave the greatest feedback and support. I knew what type of dress I wanted going in, and was worried that not only would I not find anything close to my ideal, but that if I did it would be far out of our dress budget. Luck was by my side yet again, and I did find the dress for me after just a few attempts and two stores. I had ‘the moment’ that I always imagined I would have when I found the one, and it was right within our budget. Here are some of the dresses which did NOT make the cut before I tried on the one for me. I will not share the winning dress until the wedding photos are posted.

1

This dress on the left was actually chosen by the bride trying on dresses in the next room over, and I admit it is lovely. My personal issue with it was the tulle showing through on the side there, not for me.

The one on the right was well liked by most of my family. I loved the strap detail, but I was not at all a fan of the peplum. It felt trendy, and like something I would regret in a few years.

2

I liked the lace detail on the top of the left dress, but overall it felt a bit matronly for me. The bottom detail felt sparse and that was a deal breaker.

This dress on the right was quickly a ‘no,’ and quite the unflattering picture to go with it.  The tulle on the bottom clashed too much with the embroidered flowers on the upper portion.

3

This one was the one that made my mommy cry. It came very close to being the right one – it had the lace, a beautiful back, and an elegant feel. My concerns were the sash, which was much too bright and covered with gem stones, and the tail of the dress was definitely too long and heavy for an outdoor wedding in early September.

4

This dress was another close one. It had a lot of what I was looking for – the only exception being that it had a bit too much ‘poof’ for my taste, as I was ideally in search of a sheath style dress. If I had not found the perfect dress for me after trying on this one, it is very likely that this would have been the one. Alas, it will have to be for a different bride.

Now that I have found my dress, the whole wedding seems to be coming even more into focus. We still have several details to sort, and we’re having fun with it every step of the way.

3 Comments on “Wedding Dress Shopping”

  1. Congrats on finding the dress (and a man whose by your side through it all!)! 🙂

  2. […] dress. This is not a necessary piece, but after trying on some ribbons around my waist when I was dress shopping, I decided I wanted to make my own. I loved the idea of having a piece of my wedding ensemble be […]

  3. […] searching for the perfect gown, I knew I wanted something classic and lightweight for our outdoor summer wedding. When I tried on […]


Leave a Reply

