Mediterranean Inspired Flat Bread

IMG_0917This flat-bread was actually one of those happy accidents that you can encounter in the kitchen every now and then. We were home on a Saturday afternoon but didn’t have any lunch plans so I had the challenge of coming up with something based on what we had in the refrigerator. I admit I was tempted to just go out or pick up lunch somewhere but the guilt of not wanting to spend money and knowing that we had some produce that would risk going bad soon kept me in, and so glad I did. Plus, I was feeling creative.

IMG_0920The ‘Mediterranean,’ inspriation actually comes from the ‘secret’ ingredient hummus; such a simple spread and yet gave it such amazing flavor! I had some whole wheat flat-bread pieces and a random assortment of produce, deli meats, and cheeses and initially I thought ‘easy, I’ll just make a couple sandwiches.’ However when it came to putting it together I really was not in the mood for sandwiches so I decided to make a flat-bread instead! As I was about to pull out a jar of mustard I spotted a jar of home-made hummus I had made just a couple nights ago and decided hey why not? It could work. I highly recommend you try making your own hummus sometime, it comes out so good and it’s cheaper than store brought. I make my hummus as smooth and creamy as possible with a lot of garlic and tahini so it gave the the flat-bread a delicious kick of flavor.

IMG_0918This seriously took less than ten minutes to make, it’s healthy, and it fulfills pizza cravings without the added calories of pizza. You can choose whichever meats you like, and if you’re a working gal (or guy) like me you can easily pack the ingredients and pop it into a toaster oven for a couple of minutes for your work lunch (suffice to say that my co-workers were very jealous).

INGREDIENTS (makes two servings):

1 Piece of flat-bread (I use 100% whole wheat lavash)

4 tablespoons hummus

2 slices of deli turkey

4 slices of hard salami

1/2 cup fresh arugula

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes cut in halves

1/4 cup low fat mozzarella cheese

INSTRUCTIONS:

Spread the hummus evenly on the flat-bread. Rip up the turkey into smaller pieces and spread over bread followed by salami slices. Drizzle the cheese over the flatbread and top with tomato slices and arugula. Pop it in the oven and broil for 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the bread toasted. Then, eat it all because it’s too good not to!

IMG_0926

Leave a Reply

