Eggs in Tomato Sauce

IMG_1133

This past weekend I decided to use my brand new skillet for the first time by making an egg breakfast. I love our cast iron griddle but this is my first cast iron skillet and I’m so in love with this one too!  Breakfast/brunch is my favorite meal of the day but having a steady job means I often don’t have time to cook up what I would want to each day. I always cook with real ingredients and as organically as possible so this fits the bill if you’re looking for a healthy egg breakfast. They may look like fried eggs (and taste even better) but these were actually cooked in the tomato sauce in the oven!

IMG_1134

And yes, they were super easy to make and you can adjust as you see fit. Next time I would love to add some mushrooms or some crumbled bits of chorizo.

IMG_1131

INGREDIENTS (makes for four eggs):

2 cups tomato sauce (I used the Trader Joes Puttanesca sauce which has olives, capers, and anchovies that give it a great flavor)

4 eggs

1/2 large white onion

1 tablespoon olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

Pre-heat your oven to 350F.

In a medium sized skillet I decided to saute some chopped onion before adding the tomato sauce to give it even more flavor. I love the combination of onion and egg. After sauteing onions in the olive oil until they’re lightly browned on the stove top, add the tomato sauce and let it simmer for about a minute. When the tomato sauce is evenly warmed up crack your eggs right into the sauce. You can make little ‘pockets’ in the sauce before adding your eggs so they can submerge into the sauce a bit more. Lightly salt for taste and put skillet into oven for about 2 minutes for over easy eggs and about 5 minutes if you want the yolks to cook through. I quickly learned that it may continue to look like the yolk is soft, but it cooks very quickly using this method!

We ate this with some toasted corn tortillas, but with bread or alone it’s just as delicious.

Leave a Reply

