Fresh Guacamole

IMG_0898b

Guacamole is yet another one of those foods that you will find hundreds of recipes on the internet for all claiming they are the best. I do not claim mine is ‘the best’ because I haven’t tried everything out there, but I will say that I, and anyone who has ever tried my guacamole, think it’s absolutely delicious. I just want to sit with a giant bowl of it and a spoon. Like with most of my recipes I rely on fresh ingredients to make it work. Something about pre-packaged guacamole really creeps me out. You’ve seen what happens to an avocado after you slice it, it turns brown; bright green guacamole that has been sitting for days just isn’t appetizing. Avocados are in season still and living in Los Angeles means endless amounts of avocados around every corner. I made this with the help of my handy-dandy mini food processor, which has been one of the best purchases I have made for our kitchen (and it’s adorable too). Prep time was less than ten minutes – so little time needed for so much goodness.

lemons

Recipe:

Ingredients:

3 Large ripe avocados

1/2 cup fresh chopped cilantro

1/2 large yellow onion

3 ripe tomatoes

2 lemons

2 tablespoons oregano

salt to taste

Instructions:

Slice the avocados in half and remove the pit. Scoop out the avocado with a spoon; I like to slice the avocados into little cubes while still in their shell to make the mushing process easier before scooping out the good part. Combine cilantro, onion, and tomatoes in food processor and give it a rough chop. Add chopped ingredients to bowl with avocado and mash with a large spoon. I like to leave some globs of avocado but you can mash as much as you like. Add the juice of about two lemons and some salt to taste (I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of fine sea salt). Top off with minced oregano.

Leave a Reply

