Prosciutto & Pancetta Wrapped Asparagus with Fried Egg Breakfast

I don’t know anybody who doesn’t love  breakfast food. I admit I’m not always the best at making myself breakfast, especially during the weekdays when I tend to grab a piece of fruit and run out the door to work. However, I have been attempting to get better about it and looking for inspiration wherever I can find it. I have in the past served bacon wrapped asparagus as an appetizer and I have had asparagus served with poached eggs for brunch at a few bistro’s in LA – combine those ideas and the result was my own take on the meal.

img_0904a

I’m the type of cook that primarily gets inspiration from what happens to be in the refrigerator – and this time I had a ton of asparagus, but no bacon (note – I get organic produce delivered to me so what I have is constantly changing based on the season). I did however have some pancetta and some prosciutto, which are very similar to bacon but more flavorful in my opinion – so I went for it and it was amazing! You can prepare your eggs however you like best, but I would recommend poaching or frying; I love the runny yolk to meld together with the asparagus and toasted salty meats.

img_0903a

The prep itself was also fairly quick and easy. I simply separated the asparagus into bunches – whatever size/amount you would like per serving keeping in mind that it will shrink down a bit as it cooks. I then wrapped the asparagus with one piece of pancetta and one piece prosciutto – drizzled some olive oil and a tiny amount of salt over it and baked in a 350F oven for about 15 minutes.

img_0892b

I served this up with some fresh coffee, opened the curtains to let the sunshine in and had a lovely breakfast with my boyfriend who ate it all up. I cannot wait to make this one again!

One Comment on “Prosciutto & Pancetta Wrapped Asparagus with Fried Egg Breakfast”

  1. Yum!! And a perfect pairing with eggs too!


Leave a Reply

